ABRAM WILSON - WHAT DO YOU DESIRE?

Hello!

It’s been a wee while since my last update and there is much to tell. 

Firstly and most importantly, the band’s autographs for the Kickstarter rewards have been sorted - please refer to the photos for evidence. Now all that’s left is for me to sign, seal and deliver. I have a day set aside this coming weekend so your wee gifts will be winging their way to you very shortly. 

Some wonderful and significant progress has been made with the Philippa Project, the director Pia Furtado and myself have been meeting regularly since we returned from New York and we now have the ‘Timetable of Wonder’. This is a joy to me and my OCD tendencies and a whole new world to the artistic and creative nature of Pia. It is a thing of beauty and includes everything, and by everything I mean EVERYTHING, we need to do to get this show on the road. Our lives are now plotted out on an Excel spreadsheet for the next two years. Sigh. 

During the last couple of weeks I’ve been able to enjoy some truly uplifting cultural events, I took Abram’s pianist Reuben James to see Gregory Porter as part of gorgeous vocalist Georgia Mancio’s ingenious Revoice Festival, now in it’s third year. Reuben and I discovered the soulful tunes of Mr Porter last year at the London Jazz Festival and were delighted and uplifted by his beautiful and powerful voice. I also went to see Beasts of the Southern Wild again, I promise this is the last time I’m going to mention it but it is amazing and is now being tipped for an Oscar. And last week Abram’s bassist, Alex Davis and I took a little trip to West London to see new playwright, Vickie Donoghue’s first play Mudlarks. It’s just finished a month long run at The Bush Theatre after rave reviews. I’m a big fan of Ms Donoghue. Just three years ago life threw her a pretty big curveball and she decided it was time to get focused and do something she felt passionate about, writing. Going to see her play and watch her take the leap from ‘desk job’ to professional writer has been nothing less than inspirational. 

It reminds me of Abram, and how determined he was to create and perform music. He knew from very early on what he wanted to do and he didn’t let anything get in his way. I know of many people who he inspired, people who have left their jobs or taken demotions at work so they can pursue their dreams. So in keeping with the theme of inspiration, I came across this little video the other day and wanted to share it with you. The gentleman speaking is British philosopher Alan Watts, his key question is ‘What do you desire?’. Of course, whichever road you choose is not going to be easy. But if there’s one thing Abram taught me, it was to take the road you really want to head down and no matter how hard it gets, never give up.

Till soon!

Love

Jennie x