ABRAM WILSON 30TH AUGUST 1973 - 9TH JUNE 2012

It is with great sadness that we have to tell you that yesterday afternoon Abram left this earth for a new life in the stars.  It was where he was always aiming and where he now belongs.

He was an inspiring and wonderful man, one of the world's best jazz trumpeters and a gifted educator and composer.  He has touched so many people's lives with his "warmth, passion, virtuosity and soul" and will want to be remembered as such.

We would ask you to respect the privacy of his family and close friends at this difficult time. We will let you know in due course when appropriate arrangements have been made so that everyone has an opportunity to say goodbye.

"He's a bad mother*!%&^ who can play his ass off"...........DR JOHN.........

50 responses
Such were the notes thy once loved poet sung,
Till death untimely stopped his tuneful tongue.
I had the privilege of meeting and interviewing Abram on several occasions. He was a great musician whose passion for jazz, jazz education and working with young musicians was inspiring. He was so supportive of my own first steps in jazz education and I will miss him greatly. My sincere condolences to his friends and family.
The Oxford Jazz Festival sends their love and condolences to Abram's friends and family. He was a wonderful man and musician, and will be greatly missed by all. We were lucky to have met him, and will continue to enjoy his beautiful music.
Those from South downs college who met him and played with him through there pass on their shock and sadness with this news. He inspired many of us to carry on jazz as much as possible. His music and teaching will live on. R.I.P Jazz warrior.
I'm very shocked and saddened by the sudden death of my friend Abram. He was a great composer, a dazzling musician, a nurturer of talent in others and an all-round rare human being. Rest in peace, beautiful man. Viv
I'm really shocked. I loved Abram's playing.

Sincerest condolences to his family and friends.

He will be deeply missed.

I am so saddened by this news. He was a great musician and person.
Really sad. Met him just once and was touched by his warmth, talent and generosity. All best wishes to his family and close friends.
Not fair to him, his family and loved ones, and to all us jazz fans, musicians, and not least of all us students endeavouring to get better so as to play with Abram again and again and show him our continued improvement. Such a huge loss which I can't remember feeling for a long time. Beyond sad.
Such sad news. It was an hour to work with him for 2 years at Dune. He was the most enigmatic person I have met and such an inspiration to so many. My heart goes out to his family.
Abram will truly be missed he impacted this family greatly with his love and compassion for everyone who he was privileged to meet and his music will last forever. He inspired his lil cuz my son Norman who now today plays the trumpet and has a passion for it. My fav song is "Golden Lady!" LOVE YOU ABRAM! He is now with The Most High and the heavenly Chior playing his trumpet!:-) miss u!
It was an inspiration & honour to play with Abram. A musician & human being of rare sensitivity. He will be sadly missed by everyone who met him.
Had the pleasure of seeing Abram for the first time just a matter of weeks ago in the North East. What a musician and what a man. After an evening of the finest music known to man Abram stood at the door personally acknowledging his audience. Amazing how a person you meet once can leave such an uplifting mark. True beacons never stop shining.
This is a tragedy. Abram was an incredible and hugely inspiring person and
musician: the world has lost one of the great trumpet players and composers
of this era.
When Abram played everyone around him played better.
R.I.P Abram!!
Abram was a warm, wonderful man, who inspired and drew out the best from the young people he worked with. So sad to hear the news - our thoughts are with Jennie. We will miss him very much.
My deepest sympathies to family and friends. What a sad loss to jazz music. Your memory and your charisma will live on.
Terribly sad news - hard to take in. Abram was so special. The impact he had on my son, Sam, teaching him from 9 years old for over a year was tremendous. He showed Sam the fun, the joy, the challenges and the rewards of jazz and the true spirit of an inspired and inspiring musician. He will be deeply missed.
I am so very sad hearing this news. I went to college with Abram and was in awe of his talent....and smile. On graduation day, Abram walked up on that stage, reached under his gown and pulled out his trumpet. He only played for a short time but that moment has lived in me all these years and still brings a smile to my face. Abram was always true to himself and I admired his confidence. What a tremendous person.
Very sad news to hear. I met Abe in Rochester, NY and coming from New Orleans to upstate, I was so excited to know that he also was from the Crescent City.

We played together, competed with each other, and represented the music at our best together. His passion was relentless.

To all of those that were touched by his presence and music- my deepest sympathy.

Abram and his wonderful quartet played at our jazz club in the UK on May 13th. We were all knocked out by their playing and Abram's great personality. I am stunned to hear of his death. What a tragedy. My commiserations to his family and friends.
Abram was my college roommate. He always inspired me with his passion for his work. From carrying his trumpet with him 24x7, to the late, late nights he spent perfecting his craft even then, Abram was a reminder to us all to follow our passion and work hard to make it happen. He was always quick with a laugh. Farewell, old friend.
 Thank you for this message.   Do you know the cause of his death ?
Terribly sad to hear this tragic news. Abram was kind, passionate and full of life. Both our children were nurtured by Abram in Teenie warriors and he gave them the inspiration and the energy that no other can. He connected to children like a magnet. His unique approach to his teaching lead the children to not only learn Jazz in fun way but also inspire them to realise their potential. Deepest condolence to his wife Jennie and family. He will be deeply missed.
shocked and utterly devasted by this sad news. We have lost another beautiful person to this awful disease. We had the prviledge of working with him and he was so insprin
g to our young people in Butetown

Much love to his family
Humie & Patti

My husband and I talked all night about Abrams childhood and watched his performances. We still was at it till 5:30 am this morning! Missing him deeply. The Wilson family honors you Abram your our ancestor to carry us on! Play on Jazz Warrior!
Our relationships with him and his music live on. It's never too late to get to know him through his music. :) Open your heart & ears and listen. Enjoy!

Love to all who are touched by the great loss.

Truly sad news indeed to hear of the loss of a fellow musician, cut off in the prime of his life, so, so young.
My deepest sympathy to the Wilson family for their loss.

R I P Abram

Lloyd

With a pain in my heart I read this and can not express my feelings for the loss of one of the great musicians of our time. You left us too soon my friend. Say Hi to Duke and the rest up there!
I am so sad. I'll miss him enormously. He had so much left to do. Many folks in Lincs and Notts will be so sadened. Love to all his family and friends.
Can't believe it... much missed
I'll always remember the light that shone from the eyes of young children as they responded to one of Abrams workshops. I am sure there are young musicians across the UK who will look back in years to come to one of those inspirational moments and recognise "thats when I wanted to become a musician".
What devastating news. I am a programmer and producer who booked Abram on several occasions. He was able to communicate to an audience from the most intimate of settings to the largest stages - his great talent and unique ability will be missed by many.

I add my thoughts along with you all to his family and friends and please keep us informed of the arrangements..... memorial funds etc

I know abram very closely he was more than my music teacher he was my friend and mentor i saw him just 3 weeks ago he was just a bit tired i am in total shock
R.I.P abram R.I.P
Truly gutted to hear this news. Had the privilege to see him three times and met him twice and every time without fail he put on an awe inspiring show and was a true gentleman to boot.

My thoughts go to his family and friends, he'll be sorely missed.

Ride Jazz Warrior!!

I'm still cannot believe that he has   Passed such a talent gone but not forgotten RIP Abram you left you mark touched so many lives.  

Sent from my iPhone
R.I.P. Abram. You have left a wonderful legacy for the jazz world and some wonderful tunes and performances for us to remember you by. Your life has been cut far too short but you will never be forgotten.
Saddened by a rush of tears by the news of Abrams passing. He played a trumpet solo of Londonderry Air from a balcony at my late Mother's funeral in November 2010. Atmospheric and uplifting, understandably, not a dry eye in the house. I remember with fondness the late nights he would practice at Dune Music's offices in Harrow. If he saw me, he would open the window and play me something special. A talented human being with compassion and empathy, a unique gentleness with I thought endless time to give to everyone he touched. My condolences to his wife Jennie, his family and all his colleagues and fellow musicians.
I only met Ahbram once but thought he was a really nice man. I got to sing Down By The Riverside with him at Lincoln Drill Hall and later on saw him leaning against the counter playing his heart out in the Tap and Spile in Lincoln.
I know without Abram in the story of my own music career, there would be a significant chapter missing. He was the first musician/artist to get me into the live music scene when I lived in London, and working with him gave me so much access and knowledge of the city. I think I played all of 30+ gigs with him in just one year's time, alone, and in some of London's most famous spots, including my first time performing on stage of the Jazz Cafe. But aside from those things, he was a good guy, a very sincere and considerate brother who looked out for you if you needed his assistance, and was very passionate about quality music and the legacy we had to play a part in to continue and bring to the masses who may have forgotten what music like that sounded like. This is a very sad day in finding out that he is no longer with us, but in another sense, it is a beautiful thing to read these comments and see how many people have been touched by his light, and an inspiration to pursue your life's goals if you but remember a man who was unafraid to pursue his and help people realize their's...that is a legacy worthy to share with the world, and he deserves it!
Abram was a wonderful musician, raconteur, wit and educator. He came down to Bournemouth/Poole to work with us for a couple of days, and enthused a roomful of teachers one day and a hall-full of teenage musicans the next. We had a couple of dep musicians in for his workshop, whom he treated with total respect and courtesy. He also played a fabulous gig at Lighthouse with his quartet for us, which left the audience crying out for more. Abram was a truly lovely man, warm, welcoming and with a mischievous glint in his eye. I can't believe he's gone, it's devastating news, but we'll remember him with great affection, safe in the knowledge that he has inspired generations to come. Keep them entertained in the stars up there, Abram!
I met Abram while he was a student at Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY. He was performing in various venues in the area and word got around quickly about this talented young man. We got to speak with him and found that he as not only talented buy warm and funny. There are so many memories, but one of my favorites is the time we invited him to our house for dinner before he was to set out to New York City.
It was a combination Farewell & a birthday party for one of our family members. I made my "famous" home made spaghetti sauce with pasta. A large batch, I thought. That was before Abram started digging in. He told us that his mother always said that if you appreciate a good meal, you should show it. And show us he did! The rest of the family just stared in awe. Where was this skinny kid putting all that food?! My husband just quietly got up and put on another pot of pasta so that we could give him some to take home. I still smile thinking of it. Naturally, he brought along his trumpet so that he could "sing for his supper". I will miss his sunny smile and his warmth. My deepest condolences to his family and close friends. May your happy memories bring you comfort.
So shocked and deeply hurt over this tradgic news.I found out yesterday from a phone call and felt like I had been kicked in the stomach. All thoughts and prayers with all of you mourning this charismatic jazz legend. Our family had met Abram a few times in Hull and he did a a special shout out to my little girl Angelica during his life paintings concert and spent time with us after, she was three at the time and she tried to play jazz warrior on her recorder as soon as she got home.. I even used His music to help me during child birth and my Husband and Brother [guitar/bassists) reallly appreciated Abrams musical depth too.I really hope some sort of public celebration will happen in the future .Sweet dreams genius and thankyou for the music you were truly loved by all your people and your irreplaceable xoxoxoxoxo
Abram has left a legacy behind. I heard him play a few times, met him on several occasions and work with some of the young people that he'd worked with and all i can say is that his strong ideas, the music he created that was a reflection of his very soul, the moments he shared and the knowledge he passed on to those he interacted with...will never be forgotten.

My condolences to his family and friends.

O God, what can I say that my heart cries for his family, and us and the world who have lost our image of God in Abram, When I heard and saw Abram play at Hull Truck in 2009, I knew I was in the Presence of God, for that's where he played from. Heaven obviously needed the best for a gig...it was a privilege and a blessing to have witnessed this man in action....my prayers to his family . with big hugs and lots of love to the Jazz family. God Bless xxx
I'm away in Sweden staying with Carin in Åhus Skåne We are upset by the sadest news from london.we send deepest sympathy to Jenny and his family,We remember him fondly as it was in July 2005 at concert in Canada sq. Canary Wharf that Gary Crosby's Tomorrow's warriors played tribute to Billie Holiday that We met up,since then we have met Abram on several occasions the last being earlier this Year in Stockwell where we both lived.We remarked that he had cut his locks off,looking back we read further significance into this act!Long may his memory live on in his music.
I am still in shock, can't believe Abram won't be here with us anymore! My love for Abram firstly as a musician knows now borders and secondly as one of the most proud, loving, amiable and self effacing human being I have Every met. I would always say, that if I were a woman I'd wanna marry him. I so loved the man for his huge talent and yet humbleness. Many a time I've seen him play and afterwards we'll chat about the gig and the future, where we shared ideas on how we could work on some of his projects and a few I'd bring to the table. For me Abram's stand out performance was at the Royal Festival Hall in 07, Passage of Music/Dune Music's 10th birthday celebration Roll Jordan Roll where Abram sang, played horn and danced the roof of the house with his Delta Blues Project in honour of the Fisk Jubilee Singers. Wow what a night!! For me he set the bar that night for the most multi-talent all round musician period! Abram processed awesome talent. He was such a joyful, beautiful person too be in the company of, so, so full of life and his huge inviting smile. I Will miss Abram, he was real special. In many ways I'm reminded of Lynden David Hall. Abram was an outstanding gentleman, human being, dapper dresser, band leader, singer, musician and all with such great eloquence. You will be missed Abram and I will miss you mate. My sincere and deepest condolences to his widow Jennie, his family and friends and all those who where touched by his warmth of play. May he RIP amongst the stars.
We learned of Abram's passing from one of WGMC's (Rochester, NY) radio DJs... so sad!!! Abram was a gem who I regard as a rare talent... after he graduated from Eastman School, he took Rochester by storm.

Abram will always have a place in the lives of my family: it was at his jazz concert (Geva Theater) in the late '90's that I first saw my wife (from a distance). Later that evening at a dance party, I introduced myself to her and the rest is history. Abram also attended the evening party and danced VERY hard all night.

We remained friends until our move to California but reconnected at the 1999 Montery jazz Fest where he played with Ruth Brown. He was a wonderful musicican, good friend and client (I designed his 1st website).

Abram, the Lord knows why he took you home... we will share your message of love & kindness with everyone we come in contact with. May God grant you His mercies, and give your family the wisdom and strength handle this loss.

We will miss you dearly... Bestman & Valentina

Thanks to Efejuku & Valentina,After meeting Carin at Canary Wharf july 14th 2005,I went to visit her in Arrhus Sweden that october and in her near town of Krisiianstad We met Abram and his band at concert in the small concert hall,boy did they swing!in the interval CD's of latest issue were being sold & we got one siigned by Himself It's got lovely 'cover' version of "Golden Lady"on,it,& will be long treasured.Tony & Carin.,
I first saw Abram play at the Cheltenham Jazz Festival a few years ago. I was really knocked out by his gig, which I heard either earlier or later on the radio. Wow. He was a wonderful ambassador for jazz, so personable, compelling as a performer and speaker. A truly human human, if you will.
A sad loss to jazz and to humanity.
My condolences to his family and friends.
Francis.
Bye, Joker Pizza! I knew you for 10 whole years, thats nearly all my life. I remember our Pillow Fights when you stayed over, the raw spaghetti you tried to give me and Chantelle (Unique Mandawun Safari) for lunch (we ended up cooking for you instead), the times you took me and my cousins (Elise Irons, Dominique Irons and Kaya Irons) and my neighbours (Josh and Leah) bike-riding in the park. The times at our family parties, you would take all the kids to the park to play football!! When you would wind me up by saying "Are you, sure, that your sure, that your sure??" When you bought me a guitar for my 6th Birthday!! And when I went on tour with you to France an Italy and many others places. Watching Disney movies at our house too, when you went to the cinema with me and my Mum to watch Finding Nemo. I also remember you playing at my Granddad's funeral, and helping me and my family when he was really ill.

We had lots of good times, but in our hearts you are not gone, you are here with us messing about and having fun!

Lots of Love

Leah, Josh, Rheon, Elise, Dominique, Kaya, Omari and me.
You were like a big-brother to all of us........... and we'll miss you so so much. Bye xxx